Victor Boullet

The Institute of Social Hypocrisy: Sound of Downloading Makes Me Want to Upload

150,00 kr

Led by the artist Victor Boullet, The Institute of Social Hypocrisy invited an eclectic mix of artists, teachers, photographers, thinkers, writers and curators to respond to a brief, with a view to compiling a book of thoughts and images exploring the cultural influence of the internet on the way we absorb and share information.
Given completely free rein within the subject, contributors have submitted their own thoughts and experiences, each providing a different viewpoint on the concept in order to create a broad base of ideas and opinions.

The inspiration for the project came when Boullet found himself increasingly aware of the degree to which the information he sought on the internet, and thus his own perception of his knowledge, was influenced by the people uploading the information. As a hunter of facts, images and inspiration the downloader has infinite access to his quarry. The uploader, however, shares a very personal and subjective fragment of his world with his virtual audience.

Edited by Victor Boullet, the resulting collection of essays, images and musings reveals the disparate perspectives of the various up and downloaders. It illustrates how the internet is used and manipulated as a creative tool and is a font of information and communication at every level.

Contributors include Peter J. Amdam, Markus Thor Andresson, Theodor Barth, Sophie Barth, Rasmus Thirup Beck, Victor Boullet, Merlin Carpenter, Lorenzo Cirrincione, Keren Cytter, Guy Debord, Bill Drummond, Paul Andreas Enger, Matias Faldbakken, Bentley Farrington, Ullrich Fichtner, Anna Franck, Gilbert & George, Evan Haning, Nate Harrison, Iselin Linstad Hauge, Karl Holmqvist, Jason Hwang, Marte Johnslien, Ray Johnson, Brian Kennon, Svein Kojan, Adam Kurdahl, Oliver Laric, Pablo Larios, Matthieu Laurette, David Lewis, Tobias Madison, Edie McKay, Bjarne Melgaard, Han Nefkens, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Tommy Olsson, Matt Packer, Richard Parry, Dr Nina Pearlman, Thomas Petitjean, Joe Scanlan, Chris Sharp, Sutton Lane, Kristian Skylstad, Kristina Skylstad, Brad Troemel & Jonathon F. Williams.

Published by The Institute of Social Hypocrisy
ISBN: 9780954401672
352 pages, 14 x 21 cm
Edition of 1000